Designing the Taxi:
What Do We Want

More Events >>

Date and Location

May 24, 2005

Parsons The New School for Design
Theresa Lang Center
55 West 13th Street

Related Projects

Designing the Taxi
Taxi 07

Related Publication

At this facilitated working meeting, which took place at Parsons on May 24, 2005, a panel of invited taxi steholders discussed trends in taxi design and the role of the taxi as a New York public space. Participants were asked to define the ideal taxi and taxi system of the future, from the perspective of a taxi passenger.

Questions presented for discussion included:
What do you use taxis for?
How could the vehicle be more functionally useful?
Who uses cabs – who doesn't?
How could the vehicle be more accessible?
How could the ride be more comfortable and pleasant?
What features of the sidewalk could be altered to improve taxi usage?
How could the roadway be altered to improve taxi usage?
Are there other public spaces or facilities that would improve taxi usage?
What tools, technologies, or public information would ease taxi usage?

Workshop Participants    
Jason Abbey, Architect, FXFowle Architects

Kenneth Adams, President, Brooklyn Chamber of Commerce

Alison Bauer, Board Member, Design Trust for Public Space

David Beier, Counsel, Committee for Taxi Safety

Michael Bierut, Partner, Pentagram

Micaela Birmingham, Director, Planning Center, Municipal Art Society

Ayse Birsel, Principal, Birsel + Seck

York Bleyer, Designer, Imagination (USA) Inc.

Bob Brunner, Industrial Designer, Pentagram

Jennifer Carpenter, Architect & Furniture Designer, TRUCK Product Architecture

Michael Cushing, NYC Department of Parks & Recreation

Brooke Dubose, Project for Public Spaces

Thierry Dumoulin, Designer, Imagination (USA) Inc.

Fred Dust, IDEO

Jonathan Flaherty, Masters Candidate, Business & Urban Planning, Columbia University

Bruce Fowle, Senior Principal, FX Fowle Architects

Paul Goldberger, Dean, Parsons School of Design, New School University

Neil Greenbaum, Owner, Pearland Brokerage/All Taxi Management

Kitty Hawks, Principal, Kitty Hawks, Inc.

Paul Herzan, President, Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum

Debera Johnson, Chair, Industrial Design Department, Pratt University

Eric Kim, NYC Taxi & Limousine Commission

Michael Levine, Owner, Ronart Leasing Corporation

Mike Lewkowitz, Taxi Driver

Tom Maguire, Transportation Engineer, Arup

Deborah Marton, Executive Director, Design Trust for Public Space

Chelsea Mauldin, Deputy Director, Design Trust for Public Space

Zack McKown, Principal, Tsao & McKown

Sigi Moeslinger, Principal, Antenna Design

Christopher Mount, Director of Exhibitions & Public Programs, Parsons The New School for Design

Paula Mueller, Managing Director, Rockefeller & Co.

Yerina Mugica, Analyst, Natural Resources Defense Council

Kevin Olinger, Deputy Director, NYC Department of City Planning, Transportation Division

Gregg Pasquarelli, Principal, SHoP Architects

Phil Patton, Author & Design Journalist, New York Times

Michael Pocobello, Vehicle Engineering

David Pollack, Director, Committee for Taxi Safety

John Reddick, President, Cityscape Institute

Russell Robertson, Principal, Hybrid Product Design and Development Inc.

Andrew Salkin, First Deputy Commissioner, NYC Taxi & Limousine Commission

Matthew Sapolin, Executive Director, NYC Mayor's Office for People with Disabilities

Bruce Schaller, Transportation Consultant, Schaller Consulting

Peter Schenkman, Assistant Commissioner for Safety & Emissions, NYC Taxi & Limousine Commission

Christian Schmidt, IDEO

Bibi Seck, Principal, Birsel + Seck

Charbel Sfeir, Taxi Driver

Ron Sherman, President, Midtown Operating Corporation

Jeffrey Shumaker, Senior Urban Designer, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill

Harris Silver, City Streets

Todd Smit, Director of Advanced Manufacturing, Quality, & Materials, ASC Incorporated

Ken Smith, Principal, Ken Smith Landscape Architect

Ernest Tollerson, Senior VP, Research & Policy, Partnership for New York City

Erhan Tuncel, Taxi Driver

Masamichi Udagawa, Principal, Antenna Design

Tucker Viemaster, Principal, Springtime

Claire Weisz, Principal, Weisz + Yoes

Andrea Woodner, Founder & Board Chair, Design Trust for Public Space

Mark Yoes, Principal, Weisz + Yoes

© 2012 Design Trust for Public Space, 40 Worth Street, Suite 603, New York NY 10013  212.695.2432