Designing the Taxi

More Projects >>

Related Publication

Selected Media Coverage

Newsweek Online
NY Times, June 11, 2005
NY Times, November 2, 2005
Rides Magazine, March/April 2006
Wired Magazine, November 2005

The Design Trust began investigating how to improve this iconic New York City cab in 2005. Working in cooperation with Parsons The New School for Design, we invited the taxi industry, New York City's taxi regulators, and some of the nation's finest designers to begin rethinking the taxi system and the vehicle itself. The resulting outpouring of interest from all quarters – both private and public sectors – is a testament to the passion New Yorkers feel for the yellow cab.

In order to generate innovative – but feasible – ideas, the Designing the Taxi program took the form of two half-day events, a workshop and a presentation, where participants could share expertise and experience.

Participants included fleet owners, drivers, landscape architects, urban planners, vehicle and industrial designers, graphic artists, medallion holders, representatives of City agencies, including the Taxi and Limousine Commission, and others. In total, over 50 designers and taxi stakeholders took part in a spirited discussion of all things taxi (see list below).

Following the preliminary events, the Design Trust developed the findings into an illustrated publication. An exhibit was also held at Parsons from November 2005 through January 2006.

Moving forward, the Design Trust is using the program findings as the basis for Taxi 07, a program that celebrates the taxi’s 2007 centennial, fosters design innovation, and develops a taxi master plan.

Designing the Taxi Program Participants    
The Design Trust is enormously grateful for the resources brought to bear on Designing the Taxi by a wide range of participants. A complete list of program participants is as follows:

Jason Abbey, Architect, FXFowle Architects

Rachel Abrams, Designer, Imagination (USA) Inc.

Kenneth Adams, President, Brooklyn Chamber of Commerce

Alison Bauer, Board Member, Design Trust for Public Space

David Beier, Counsel, Committee for Taxi Safety

Michael Bierut, Partner, Pentagram

Micaela Birmingham, Director, Planning Center, Municipal Art Society

Ayse Birsel, Principal, Birsel + Seck

York Bleyer, Designer, Imagination (USA) Inc.

Bob Brunner, Industrial Designer, Pentagram

Jennifer Carpenter, Architect & Furniture Designer, TRUCK Product Architecture

Michael Cushing, NYC Department of Parks & Recreation

Brooke Dubose, Project for Public Spaces

Thierry Dumoulin, Designer, Imagination (USA) Inc.

Fred Dust, IDEO

Jonathan Flaherty, Masters Candidate, Business & Urban Planning, Columbia University

Bruce Fowle, Senior Principal, FX Fowle Architects

Paul Goldberger, Dean, Parsons School of Design, New School University

Neil Greenbaum, Owner, Pearland Brokerage/All Taxi Management

Kitty Hawks, Principal, Kitty Hawks, Inc.

Paul Herzan, President, Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum

Debera Johnson, Chair, Industrial Design Department, Pratt University

Eric Kim, NYC Taxi & Limousine Commission

Michael Levine, Owner, Ronart Leasing Corporation

Mike Lewkowitz, Taxi Driver

Tom Maguire, Transportation Engineer, Arup

Deborah Marton, Executive Director, Design Trust for Public Space

Chelsea Mauldin, Deputy Director, Design Trust for Public Space

Zack McKown, Principal, Tsao & McKown

Sigi Moeslinger, Principal, Antenna Design

Christopher Mount, Director of Exhibitions & Public Programs, Parsons The New School for Design

Paula Mueller, Managing Director, Rockefeller & Co.

Yerina Mugica, Analyst, Natural Resources Defense Council

Kevin Olinger, Deputy Director, NYC Department of City Planning, Transportation Division

Gregg Pasquarelli, Principal, SHoP Architects

Phil Patton, Author & Design Journalist, New York Times

Michael Pocobello, Vehicle Engineering

David Pollack, Director, Committee for Taxi Safety

John Reddick, President, Cityscape Institute

Russell Robertson, Principal, Hybrid Product Design and Development Inc.

Andrew Salkin, First Deputy Commissioner, NYC Taxi & Limousine Commission

Matthew Sapolin, Executive Director, NYC Mayor's Office for People with Disabilities

Bruce Schaller, Transportation Consultant, Schaller Consulting

Peter Schenkman, Assistant Commissioner for Safety & Emissions, NYC Taxi & Limousine Commission

Christian Schmidt, IDEO

Bibi Seck, Principal, Birsel + Seck

Charbel Sfeir, Taxi Driver

Ron Sherman, President, Midtown Operating Corporation

Jeffrey Shumaker, Senior Urban Designer, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill

Harris Silver, City Streets

Todd Smit, Director of Advanced Manufacturing, Quality, & Materials, ASC Incorporated

Ken Smith, Principal, Ken Smith Landscape Architect

Ernest Tollerson, Senior VP, Research & Policy, Partnership for New York City

Erhan Tuncel, Taxi Driver

Masamichi Udagawa, Principal, Antenna Design

Tucker Viemaster, Principal, Springtime

Claire Weisz, Principal, Weisz + Yoes

Andrea Woodner, Founder & Board Chair, Design Trust for Public Space

Mark Yoes, Principal, Weisz + Yoes

© 2012 Design Trust for Public Space, 40 Worth Street, Suite 603, New York NY 10013  212.695.2432